Midfielder Patrick Wilson has become the second back-to-back winner of the State League Club Champion award after another outstanding SANFL season.

In a tight race, Wilson finished on 144 votes, just two ahead of runner-up and captain Matthew Wright.

Retiring defender Andy Otten demonstrated his experience and reliability, taking out third place with 136 votes.

Young defender Jordon Butts came fourth with 109 votes in his first season at the Club, while midfielder Myles Poholke finished fifth on 106 votes despite missing six games.

Wilson led the count for the majority of the season, but was briefly overtaken by Otten in Round 13 after the defender had a stellar run of form mid-season.

A worthy runner-up, skipper Wright led from the front all year and consistently polled votes, maintaining a top-three position on the leaderboard for the whole season. 

Playing every game, the forward kicked 20 goals throughout the season while making cameos in defence and on the wing.

Continuing on from a stellar 2018, Wilson’s impressive 2019 campaign placed him second in the Magarey Medal.

He dominated the stat sheet for Adelaide, leading in disposals, marks, contested possessions, hard ball gets, tackles, clearances and inside-50s.

The 24-year-old was also in the top 10 in the SANFL for tackles (119 – second in the competition), disposals (535 – fourth) and inside-50s (83 – fifth).

While he was consistent all year, Wilson had a number of standout games.

In Round Three against Woodville-West Torrens, he delivered a perfect 12-vote performance after collecting 43 disposals, 11 marks, 10 inside 50s and six clearances.

Another highlight came in Round 11 against Sturt when he laid an incredible 22 tackles in the wet and he received 10 votes.

The State League Club Champion voting process follows the same protocol as the senior side, with the coaching panel – Heath Younie, Brent Reilly and Paul Thomas – rating every player from 0-4 after each match according to their impact.

Wilson joins former SANFL Crows skipper Ian Callinan as a two-time State League Club Champion, with Scott Thompson and Jonathon Beech the other recipients.

State League Club Champion Leaderboard - Top 10

1.Patrick Wilson – 144
2. Matthew Wright – 142
3. Andy Otten – 136
4. Jordon Butts – 109
5. Myles Poholke – 106
6. Tyson Stengle – 100
7. Darcy Fogarty – 89
8. Lachlan Sholl – 88
9. Will Hamill – 87
10. Ben Davis – 82

State League Club Champions

2014 – Ian Callinan
2015 – Ian Callinan
2016 – Jonathon Beech
2017 – Scott Thompson
2018 – Patrick Wilson
2019 – Patrick Wilson

Club Champion voting protocol

1 vote – Played his role. Solid game without significant influence on the game.
2 votes – Played his role well and influenced the game.
3 votes – Played his very well with significant influence on the game.
4 votes – Played his role outstandingly and dominated the game.