Adelaide forward Shane McAdam is set to make his AFL debut this Sunday against the Brisbane Lions.

The Crows No. 23 joined the Club at the end of 2018 and booted 22 goals for Adelaide’s SANFL side in 2019.

“It was the worst kept secret going round, especially among our playing group,” coach Matthew Nicks said on Friday.

“He’s been incredible over the last month and he’s gone to another level with his game.

“We felt the time was right.”

McAdam will become the fourth Crow this season - following Fischer McAsey, Ned McHenry and Will Hamill - to make their AFL debut.

11:11 Mins
Published on

Matthew Nicks Presser June 26

Matthew Nicks Speaks to the media about the upcoming game with Brisbane and how the team will look.

Published on

A further three have made their Club debut for the Crows in 2020.

Billy Frampton and Myles Poholke have also been included in Adelaide’s final 22 side.

Key forward Taylor Walker has kept his spot and has the backing of the coaching staff, Nicks said.

“He’s a leader, a really important leader for us,” Nicks said.

“He’s going to be under scrutiny and we understand that.

“We’ve backed him in.”

00:54 Mins
Published on

Wednesday contact training

The Crows went hard in this week's contact session in their smaller groups as they look to turn their form around against Brisbane on Sunday.

Published on

Rory Atkins was ruled out for the next four to six weeks following shoulder injury sustained against Gold Coast.

Paul Seedsman and Matt Crouch have been omitted.

“Matty's got some areas we need him to work on,” Nicks said.

“(The) unfortunate part of that is we've had a group that's underperforming on that particular line. 

“We've decided to make three changes, which we feel will help the group improve in the short term."

Adelaide will face Brisbane at the Gabba on Sunday at 1.05pm (AEST).

The match will be televised live from 12.30pm (ACST) on Channel 7 in Adelaide and on Fox Footy.

Adelaide’s Round Four team is:

In: McAdam, Frampton, Poholke
Out: M. Crouch, Seedsman, Atkins

B: Kelly, Talia, Brown
HB: Doedee, McAsey, Laird
C: Smith, Sloane, Hamill
HF: Keays, Lynch, Jones
F: Crocker, Fogarty, Murphy
FOL: O’Brien, McHenry, B. Crouch
INT: Poholke, Walker, Frampton, McAdam
EMG: M. Crouch, Gibbs, Hartigan, Himmelberg