Adelaide midfielder Rory Laird and wingman Lachlan Sholl have shared top honours in the AFL coaches’ votes for Round Four.

The pair earned nine votes apiece from senior coaches Matthew Nicks and David Noble following the Crows’ 41-point win over the Kangaroos at Marvel Stadium on Sunday.

Laird played a pivotal role in the absence of captain Rory Sloane, collecting over a third of his team’s clearances (11) to go with 31 disposals and five inside 50s.

Sholl also had 31 touches, as well as eight score involvements, 595 metres gained and kicked an important final quarter goal.

Ruckman Reilly O’Brien received five votes as the dominant big man on the ground, finishing with 24 disposals, 15 contested possessions, 31 hitouts, six clearances and a goal.

Stand-in captain Tom Doedee was the other Crow to poll with two votes, split by North Melbourne duo Aaron Hall (four votes) and Jack Ziebell (one).

01:09 Mins
Published on

R4: Doedee racks up the intercepts

Tom Doedee gets six intercept marks in round 4.

Published on

Taylor Walker remains at the top of the AFL Coaches Association’s Champion Player Award leaderboard, six votes ahead of Demon Max Gawn and Bulldog Jack Macrae.

Adelaide v North Melbourne

9 - Rory Laird (ADEL)
9 - Lachlan Sholl (ADEL)
5 - Reilly O’Brien (ADEL)
4 - Aaron Hall (NMFC)
2 - Tom Doedee (ADEL)
1 - Jack Ziebell (NMFC)

Leaderboard after Round 4

28 - Taylor Walker (ADEL)
22 - Max Gawn (MELB)
22 - Jack Macrae (WB)
20 - Clayton Oliver (MELB)
19 - Dustin Martin (RICH)
19 - David Mundy (FRE)