Adelaide has identified the next generation of leaders to take the team forward with four new faces added to its leadership group for 2024.

Again led by Captain Jordan Dawson who was crowned Club Champion and All Australian in his first year in the role, the group will include three Vice-Captains in Brodie Smith, Ben Keays and Reilly O’Brien.

The four additions to an expanded leadership model for this season are forwards Darcy Fogarty and Lachlan Murphy and defenders Wayne Milera and Mitch Hinge.

Senior Coach Matthew Nicks said a combination of their diversity in experience, thought and strengths, ability to influence the group, as well as their drive for success and love for their teammates were among the compelling reasons for their elevation to a leadership role.

They were voted in by the playing group with the backing of the coaches, and the leadership group was formally endorsed by the Club’s Board and senior management.

Key forward Fogarty, 24, grew up in country South Australia and has played 79 games since being drafted by the Crows in 2017. He has established himself as a strong overhead mark and one of the most reliable set shots for goal in the competition.

Murphy is on Adelaide’s long list of rookie success stories after he moved from Victoria to play in the Crows’ SANFL team in 2017 and was drafted later that year. He has since played 98 AFL games including 22 last year as a small pressure forward and finished sixth in best-and-fairest voting.

Milera is also from South Australia and the proud Narungga, Gunditjmara and Wotjobaluk man has excelled as one of the Club’s Indigenous leaders and role models.

He has played 96 games since being drafted in 2015 and shown great resilience in overcoming serious knee and foot injuries which sidelined him for the best part of two seasons.

Hinge, who is another Croweater from the state’s South East, joined Adelaide from Brisbane in 2021 and has taken his career games tally to 43. Last year he cemented his spot in the AFL side as a dangerous rebound defender and finished equal fourth in Club Champion voting.

“We’re fortunate to have stability in our core leaders, led of course by Jordan Dawson who was outstanding in his first season as skipper,” Nicks said.

“And our strong culture has enabled others to develop and they have done so in a significant way in recent years.

“The four new players to the group – Darcy Fogarty, Mitch Hinge, Wayne Milera and Lachie Murphy – have been standouts and bring their own skillsets and experiences to the group. We embrace that diversity in experience and thought which makes us stronger as a team.

“They’ve all had different journeys to AFL football and our Club, and know what it’s like to overcome challenges which will hold us in good stead.

“Being endorsed by their peers is a sign of the respect they have amongst our group and I’m excited for them to work together.”

Murphy said it was an honour to be voted into the leadership group and trusted to help take the Club forward.

“I pride myself on being able to play my role for the team and being part of the leadership group shows that we celebrate guys who do that, and you don’t need to be the biggest and best player on the list to lead or help others, so it means a lot to have that responsibility,” he said.

At 26, Milera said joining the leadership group was part of the next evolution of his career.

“I love this Club and want to do everything I can to help us improve,” he said.

“Going into my ninth season, I feel like this is the next step for me and I’m passionate about helping my teammates and ultimately the team get the success we want.”