Main content

SANFL: Development squad annnounced

We’ve had a big turnover of new players, we think we’ve got a lot of depth.
Ryan O'Keefe

Adelaide’s 29-man SANFL development squad has been finalised ahead of the 2018 season.

There are a wide variety of players in the squad, including 15 returning players and 14 new additions.

The development squad plays alongside those on the Adelaide Crows list who aren’t playing in the AFL team, ensuring a full team is fielded each week.

Midfielder Joey Brown, ruckman Brady Zwar, wingman Ryan Marini, utility Josh Wittwer, defender Sam Tharaldsen and forward Blake Launer are among the returning players in the development squad.

The 14 new players come from a variety of backgrounds, including having previously played SANFL at other clubs, such as Michael McMahon who played for North Adelaide and Doug Hadden from Sturt.

Last year, Lachlan Murphy moved from Melbourne to Adelaide to be a member of the development squad, and went on to receive the Dean Bailey award after an outstanding season for the SANFL Crows.

As a result, Murphy was drafted by the Crows in the AFL Rookie Draft.

Others are now following in his footsteps, with 20-year-old James Loneragan moving from Sydney to be in the development squad in 2018.

State League coach Ryan O’Keefe said the squad is well balanced.

“I’m really happy with the squad this year,” O’Keefe said.

"We’ve got a couple of guys that have been on the list for a year or two now, so they know the system which is really good.

“We’ve got some younger guys that have shown so much improvement, if they get an opportunity, I’m sure they will lap it up.

“We’ve also had a big turnover of new players, we think we’ve got a lot of depth.”

The SANFL team’s first trial match is against West Adelaide at City Mazda Stadium on Saturday, March 10.

Adelaide will kick off it’s SANFL season on Saturday, March 31, against Port Adelaide at Alberton Oval. 

Aron Asfaha Glenunga 177 65 13/5/97
Aaron Baker Westminster Old Scholars 185 82 10/1/96
John Boxer Golden Grove 168 64 12/9/89
Joey Brown Kapunda 174 67 24/7/96
Adam Connelly Trinity Old Scholars 173 74 11/2/96
Corey Davey Solomontown 188 83 30/5/97
Louis De Michele RMFL Imperials 193 88 11/9/94
Samuel Ferguson Henley Sharks 186 99 30/6/93
Doug Hadden Rostrevor Old Collegians 177 70 28/3/94
Damon Hill GAZA 186 82 14/4/97
Tyson Irlam Willaston 176 85 26/11/94
Blake Launer Eudunda Robertstown 171 85 14/9/97
James Lean Henley Sharks 181 81 13/2/95
Matthew Leigh Athelstone 184 87 17/12/92
James Loneragan Adelaide University 189 88 24/1/98
Ryan Marini Adelaide University 186 85 16/9/95
Michael McMahon Glenunga 186 83 18/7/94
Mitchell Mins Reynella 186 91 4/1/97
Brad Oats Mypolonga 194 82 30/3/96
Aidan Offe Adelaide University 176 68 9/12/94
Rupert Peake Sacred Heart 190 85 15/9/92
Tom Pinyon Mount Compass 197 94 30/8/92
Harry Slee Meningie 186 86 7/7/96
Sam Tharaldsen Flagstaff Hill 188 88 5/3/94
Josh Vandermeer Flagstaff Hill 189 85 1/3/96
Sam Venning Brighton 184 83 17/10/91
Sam Webster PHOS Camden 181 83 4/2/98
Josh Wittwer Paskeville 177 81 18/3/92
Brady Zwar Southern Flinders 194 104 7/1/96