Adelaide has finalised its 2020 AFLW playing list, selecting eight players from the SANFLW competition in Tuesday’s 2019 AFLW draft.

The Crows called talented ruck and two-time Under-18 All-Australian Montana McKinnon with their first-round selection.

Despite only being 18 years of age, McKinnon comes with a long list of football accolades.

She was named the Most Valuable Player of the Central Allies at the 2019 National Championships and became a dual SANFLW premiership player after back-to-back wins with South Adelaide in 2018 and 2019.

With its second pick, Adelaide selected reigning 2019 SANFLW best and fairest, Najwa Allen.

The 25-year-old also won the SANFLW Coaches Trophy in her first season of football in South Australia, having moved from Canberra.

With Pick No. 46, Adelaide chose line-breaking half-back Nicole Campbell.

A key pillar of South Adelaide’s 2019 premiership side, the 25-year-old was also named in the SANFLW Team of the Year.

Jaimi Tabb (No. 53) and Caitlin Gould (No. 68) were the next new Crows to join the list.

Tabb, a powerful midfielder, has represented South Australia and the Allies for the past two seasons and was the leading tackler at the 2019 AFLW Under-18 Championships.

In only her second year of football, versatile Gould was named in the SANFLW Team of the Year, having finished second in the league for hit-outs.

After relocating to South Australia with her family in 2019, former GWS Giant Courtney Gum decided to come out of retirement, allowing Adelaide to select her with pick No. 83.

Gum was named the 2018 AFL Players Association’s MVP in her debut AFLW season and will provide the Crows with invaluable experience in 2020.

A rebounding defender with a penetrating kick was the next addition to the Crows’ list, with Madison Newman being picked at No. 100.

Newman earned All-Australian honours during the AFLW Under-18 Championships while also being named in the SANFLW Team of the Year.

Adelaide’s final selection was 21-year-old Chelsea Biddell.

The key forward finished second in the 2019 SANFLW goalkicking despite missing games with injury, after being named in the 2018 SANFLW Team of the Year.

Crows General Manager of Football Administration Phil Harper said the Club was excited by its haul of draftees, with all of them being outstanding individuals.

“We’re rapt to bring eight quality players and, more importantly, quality people into our group,” Harper said.

“It’s great recognition of the increasing standard of women’s football and development pathways in South Australia that we were able to select eight players from the SANFL Women’s Competition.

“With Erin Phillips, Chloe Scheer and Rhiannon Metcalfe recovering from knee injuries and Hannah Martin (ACL) unfortunately ruled out for the season, we thought it was important to balance our list with some exciting mature-age talent, alongside some promising juniors.

“We want to continue to improve as a group and we believe these eight players will bring the attitude and work ethic required to help us do that.”

The Crows had eight picks in the 2019 draft after Hannah Martin (knee) and Maisie Nankivell (netball) were placed on the inactive list.

Crows AFLW 2019 draftees

Pick No.14 – Montana McKinnon
Pick No.37 – Najwa Allen
Pick No.46 – Nicole Campbell
Pick No.53 – Jaimi Tabb
Pick No.68 – Caitlin Gould
Pick No.83 – Courtney Gum
Pick No.100 – Madison Newman
Pick No.102 – Chelsea Biddell