Adelaide has retained majority of its 2020 AFLW playing squad after signing a mix of premiership players and emerging talent.

Experienced trio Justine Mules, Dayna Cox and Danielle Ponter, as well as first-year player Najwa Allen and young gun Nikki Gore have signed on for at least another season.  

Crows General Manager Football Administration Phil Harper said the Club was pleased to keep its core group of players together. 

“We had a disappointing season, but with hard work and a better injury run, we believe we can bounce back in 2021,” Harper said.

“It’s great that our players share this belief and want to commit to the Club and each other.” 

Adelaide has now retained 24 players from this year and brought in three proven AFLW players via trades, bringing its list to 27 for Season 2021.

Co-captain Chelsea Randall, star midfielder Ebony Marinoff, lively forwards Stevie-Lee Thompson and Chloe Scheer and experienced defenders Angela Foley and Marijana Rajcic were already signed for next season, after inking two-year deals last year.

Adelaide has made the difficult decision not to offer Nicole Campbell and Jaimi Tabb contracts for 2021.

Rookie Maisie Nankivell, who was placed on the ‘inactive list’ last season, will also step away from football to pursue her netball career with the Adelaide Thunderbirds.

“Nicole and Jaimi both pulled on the Crows colours this year and showed they had something to offer, and we are confident that with further improvement they will get another go at AFLW level,” Harper said. 

“We’re disappointed to lose Maisie but at the same time we’re rapt to see her fulfilling her childhood dream of playing netball professionally.”

As previously announced, Courtney Cramey, Jess Foley, Sophie Li and Courtney Gum have retired, while Ruth Wallace will also depart.

Adelaide will complete its list of 30 in the AFLW Draft later this year.

Adelaide list as of August 12

Caitlin Gould
Eloise Jones
Angela Foley
Chloe Scheer
Hannah Button
Nikki Gore
Najwa Allen
Deni Varnhagen
Ebony Marinoff
Rhiannon Metcalfe
Chelsea Biddell
Erin Phillips
Stevie-Lee Thompson
Danielle Ponter
Ailish Considine 
Madison Newman
Montana McKinnon
Justine Mules
Chelsea Randall
Renee Forth
Dayna Cox
Marijana Rajcic
Anne Hatchard
Sarah Allan
Jessica Sedunary (trade)
Hannah Munyard (trade)
Lisa Whiteley (trade)